fr
en
  • Joseph Haydn Model
     New 
  • “Joseph Haydn” Model

    1732-1809
    While Mozart died at just under 36 years, his friend Joseph Haydn enjoyed a significantly longer life. At 77 years of age, that's quite an age in the 18th century. This outstanding lifespan allowed him to cross the entire classical period, from the end of the baroque to the very beginning of the romantic era. He influenced the greatest composers of his time, such as Mozart and later Beethoven, who also studied with him. Therefore, it is not surprising that his music is for most musicians the embodiment of the classical style. He left more than 100 symphonies and is also said to be the father of the string quartet.

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 54 times)
  • Henry Purcell Model
  • “Henry Purcell” Model

    1659-1695
    Throughout the Baroque, or even Classical period, Germany and Italy were the cradle of many timeless geniuses. This was not really the case in England. Never mind! The British certainly have in their heritage one of the most beautiful jewels of music. They do have Henry Purcell, the greatest master of harmonic tension. Purcell brings to the edge of consonance, keeping us on sevenths rubbing. There, we are deeply moved because it can be a long and even disturbing balancing act. At the exit of this narrow harmonic path, the final resolution of the chord naturally imposes itself overwhelming us. It is an incredibly daring and modern writing process, even for us who live more than 300 years later.
    Must hear : Dido and aeneas, Music for the Funeral of Queen Mary...

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 417 times)
  • Antonio Vivaldi Model
  • “Antonio Vivaldi” Model

    1678-1741
    The Venetian Red Priest was a great violin virtuoso, a prolific composer with a grandiose and exaggerated character. His music is like his life: all forms, all styles for all instruments. He wore multiple hats as a violin master, composer, impresario with numerous courts and institutions which gave him the optimal environment to unleash his limitless creativity. He was able to recruit and maintain his musicians without restriction. This freedom allowed him to develop real laboratories of ideas to conduct a wide range of musical experiments. He is known for the extraordinary technicality of the violin found in his works, a quasi-instrumental processing of the voice and the authorship of the Soloist Concerto.
    Must hear : The 4 Seasons, the Stabat Mater ... and about 98 sonatas, 507 concertos, about fifty operas of which 20 have come down to us, cantatas and serenades ...

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 275 times)
  • J.S.Bach Model
  • “J.S.Bach” Model

    1685-1750
    Bach is often described as a family man with a quiet life. Admittedly, he is somewhat the opposite of the great romantic impulses. If you can revel in the music of certain composers like eating a tasty pastry, it is not this pleasure that you will find in Bach's music. A good game of chess or rubik's cube would be closer to the enjoyment one can get from listening to his works. He is the ultimate master of counterpoint. He has made fugue an Art. With Bach, the complexity of his music takes us on a journey through the mysteries of harmony. It is fascinating.
    Must hear : The Art of Fugue, the Brandenburg Concertos, the Well-Tempered Keyboard...

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 278 times)
  • J.F.Haendel Model
  • “J.F.Haendel” Model

    1685-1759
    If there's one Baroque composer who can be described as universal, it is indeed him, Georg Friedrich Handel. German by birth and by training, he will end up being naturalized English. By the way, he is sometimes simply regarded as a British composer.
    Handel has moreover succeeded in making his work a synthesis of German, English, but also Italian and French styles. He is definitely the most "European" of the Baroque composers.
    Must hear : Water Music, Messiah (oratorio), the famous Sarabande…

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 198 times)
  • W.A.Mozart Model
  • “W.A.Mozart” Model

    1756-1791
    Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart is with no doubt the most famous of all composers... We often remember the image of the child prodigy who played the harpsichord from the age of 4 or 5, and composed his first symphony at 8... Mozart is well beyond that. He took music art of the Classical period to its pinnacle and leaves us a masterfull work of more than 600 pieces. He died at 35, ruined, consumed by his genius and the dissolute life that, in his case, is closely linked to it.
    Must hear : The Magic Flute, The Requiem, The Symphony N°40, The Great Mass in C minor, the Quintet for Clarinet and Strings, the Piano Concerto n°23, and so many other masterpieces...

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 280 times)
  • L.V.Beethoven Model
  • “L.V.Beethoven” Model

    1770-1827
    German composer and pianist, Ludwig van Beethoven is the link between Viennese classicism (Haydn, Mozart) and the Romantic movement. It is said that he left a very good impression on Mozart during a brief meeting where he was able to demonstrate his talent as a great improviser. He was also one of Haydn's students. He gradually became deaf at the age of 27, forcing him to give up his career as a performer. He then devoted himself solely to composition. Bearer of democratic and revolutionary convictions, he will defend all his life the price of his independence, fighting sometimes against isolation and misery.
    Must hear : The Kreuzer Sonata, the Moonlight Sonata, The Pathétique, the 5th Symphony, the 9th Symphony (with the Ode to Joy), the Emperor Concerto ...

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 290 times)
  • Claude Debussy Model
  • “Claude Debussy” Model

    1862-1918
    With Debussy, we are right into the 20th century. In this change of era, his non-conformism is not as disruptive as that of Stravinsky, for example. He gently moves the audience from traditional aesthetics to new forms and harmonies. In this regard, the extensive use of the whole-tone scale in his work, which is in a way his signature, makes him easily identifiable. Debussy is a must in the piano repertoire, but he is also a brilliant master of symphonic orchestration.
    Must hear : Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun, Syrinx (for solo flute), Moonlight, 1st Arabesque...

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 176 times)
  • Francis Poulenc Model
     New 
  • “Francis Poulenc” Model

    1899-1963
    The most famous composer of The Six. Poulenc is sometimes a childlike world with works that always delight the youngest. He is also and above all a composer who transports us effortlessly and emotionally along complex harmonic paths without ever losing us in intellectual intricacies.

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 24 times)
  • Germaine Tailleferre Model
     New 
  • “Germaine Tailleferre” Model

    1892-1983
    For a long time, it was considered that music writing was a man's craft. In the light of contemporary events and thanks to the opening of numerous archives (with internet support), an ever-increasing number of women composers are being discovered. Tailleferre is a rare exception and did not have to wait until the 21st century to enter the history of music, even if it took a lot of self-sacrifice to impose her musical career on her family... Member of The Six, she left her mark on the French music of the 20th century.

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 23 times)
  • Louis Durey Model
     New 
  • “Louis Durey” Model

    1888-1979
    He is less famous than other members of the Six. The contributions of Schönberg and Ravel to his style are quite obvious and his works rarely break free from one or the other of these influences.

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 14 times)
  • Arthur Honegger Model
     New 
  • “Arthur Honegger” Model

    1892-1955
    His works are on the whole less open than those of Poulenc or Tailleferre, but some of his masterpieces, such as Pacific 231, have always had a wide audience. Honegger is versatile in his writing and it' s not clear where he fits in, except of course that he belongs to The Six.

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 21 times)
  • Georges Auric Model
     New 
  • “Georges Auric” Model

    1899-1983
    His name is not well known among the general public, but we still know him by his film scores, some of which are part of the French film heritage of the 20th century, such as "La belle et la bête" or "La grande vadrouille"... He also had contact with Stravinsky, and we can't miss some writing similarities between the two composers, such as between his "Malbrough s'en va-t'en guerre" and " L'histoire du Soldat " by Stravinsky.

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 20 times)
  • Darius Milhaud Model
     New 
  • “Darius Milhaud” Model

    1892-1974
    What would Darius Milhaud's music have sounded like if he had not lived in South America, and later in the United States? His works are so syncopated and swinging that he would not have been the same staying on the old continent. This american touch is what makes him so singular in the Group of Six.

    12 staves - Size: Medium

    Format A4

    (Downloaded 17 times)

fr
en
  • Modele Joseph Haydn
    Nouveau
  • Modèle “Joseph Haydn”

    1732-1809
    Si Mozart a vécu un peu moins de 36 ans, son ami Joseph Haydn a eu une vie bien plus longue. 77 ans, c’est un bel âge au 18e siècle. Cette longévité exceptionnelle lui aura permis de traverser l’intégralité de la période classique, de la toute fin du baroque aux balbutiements du romantisme. Il a influencé les plus grands compositeurs de son époque comme Mozart et plus tard Beethoven qui a été son élève. Ce n’est donc pas étonnant que sa musique soit pour beaucoup de musiciens l’archétype du style classique. Il laisse entre autres plus de 100 symphonies et est aussi connu comme le père du quatuor à cordes.

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 13 fois)
  • Modele Henry Purcell
  • Modèle “Henry Purcell”

    1659-1695
    Durant toute la période baroque, ou même classique, l’Allemagne et l’Italie ont été le berceau de nombreux génies intemporels. Ce ne fut pas vraiment le cas de l’Angleterre. Qu’à cela ne tienne ! Les Anglais ont assurément un des plus beaux joyaux de la musique dans leur patrimoine. Oui, ils ont Henry Purcell, le maître absolu de la tension harmonique. Purcell nous amène au bord de la consonance, en équilibre sur des frottements de septièmes. On en frissonne, car l’exercice d’équilibriste peut être long et même perturbant. À la sortie de l’étroit chemin harmonique, la résolution finale de l’accord s’impose alors naturellement et nous bouleverse. C’est incroyablement osé et moderne dans le procédé d’écriture, même pour nous qui vivons plus de 300 ans après lui.
    Œuvres incontournables : Didon et Enée, Music for the Funeral of Queen Mary...

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 403 fois)
  • Modele Antonio Vivaldi
  • Modèle “Antonio Vivaldi”

    1678-1741
    Le Prêtre Roux Vénitien était un véritable virtuose du violon, compositeur prolifique au caractère spectaculaire et excessif. Sa composition ressemble à sa vie : toutes les formes, tous les genres pour tous les instruments. Ses multiples casquettes de maître de violon, compositeur, impresario auprès de multiples cours et institutions lui ont apporté les conditions idéales pour libérer son imagination débordante. Sans contrainte de recrutement, de salaire, ni d’entretien de ses musiciens, il a constitué de véritables laboratoires d’idées pour tenter moult expériences musicales. On lui reconnaît une technicité hors normes du violon que l’on retrouve dans ses œuvres, un traitement quasi instrumental de la voix et la paternité du Concerto de Soliste.
    Œuvres incontournables : Les 4 Saisons, le Stabat Mater … et environ 98 sonates, 507 concertos, une cinquantaine d’opéras dont 20 nous sont parvenus, des cantates et des sérénades.

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 261 fois)
  • Modele J.S.Bach
  • Modèle “J.S.Bach”

    1685-1750
    Johann Sebastian Bach est souvent représenté en bon père de famille à la vie tranquille. Il est vrai qu’il est un peu l’inverse des grands élans romantiques. Si l’on peut se délecter de la musique de certains compositeurs comme on consomme une savoureuse pâtisserie, ce n’est pas ce plaisir que l’on trouvera dans la musique de Bach. Une bonne partie d’échec ou de Rubik’s cube se rapprocherait plus de la jouissance que l’on peut tirer de l’écoute de ses œuvres. Il est le maître absolu du contrepoint. Il a fait de la fugue un Art. Avec Bach, la complexité de sa musique nous fait voyager dans les arcanes de l’harmonie. C’est fascinant.
    Œuvres incontournables : L’Art de la Fugue, les Concertos Brandbourgeois, le Clavier Bien Tempéré...

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 258 fois)
  • Modele J.F.Haendel
  • Modèle “J.F.Haendel”

    1685-1759
    S’il y a un compositeur baroque que l’on peut qualifier d’universel, c’est bien lui, Georg Friedrich Haendel. Allemand de naissance et de formation, il finira par se faire naturaliser anglais. Il est d’ailleurs parfois simplement considérer comme un compositeur britannique.
    Haendel a de plus réussi le tour de force de faire de son œuvre une synthèse des styles allemand, anglais, mais aussi italien et français. On peut assurément dire qu’il est le plus "européen" des compositeurs baroques.
    Œuvres incontournables : Water Music, Le Messie (oratorio), la très connue Sarabande...

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 188 fois)
  • Modele W.A.Mozart
  • Modèle “W.A.Mozart”

    1756-1791
    Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart est certainement le plus célèbre de tous les compositeurs… Du personnage, on retient souvent l’image de l’enfant prodige qui se produisait au clavecin dès 4 ou 5 ans, et composait sa première symphonie à 8 ans... Mozart est bien plus que cela. Il a porté la musique de la période classique à son apogée et nous lègue une œuvre magistrale de plus de 600 références. Il meurt à 35 ans, ruiné, consumé par son génie et la vie dissolue qui, dans son cas, en est indissociable.
    Œuvres incontournables : La Flûte Enchantée, le Requiem, la Symphonie n°40, la Grande Messe en Ut, le Quintette pour Clarinette et Cordes, le Concerto pour piano n°23, et tellement d’autres chefs d’œuvre...

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 262 fois)
  • Modele L.V.Beethoven
  • Modèle “L.V.Beethoven”

    1770-1827
    Compositeur et pianiste allemand, Ludwig van Beethoven fait le lien entre le classicisme Viennois (Haydn, Mozart) et le courant romantique. On dit qu’il impressionna Mozart lors d’une brève rencontre où il put lui démontrer son talent de grand improvisateur. Il a aussi été l’un des élèves de Haydn. La surdité le gagna dès l’âge de 27 ans, le contraignant petit à petit à abandonner sa carrière d’interprète. Il se consacrera alors uniquement à la composition. Porteur de convictions démocratiques et révolutionnaires, il défendra toute sa vie le prix de son indépendance, combattant parfois l’isolement et la misère.
    Oeuvres incontournables : La Sonate à Kreuzer, la Sonate Clair de Lune, La Pathétique, la 5ème Symphonie, la 9ème symphonie (avec l’Ode à la Joie), le concerto l’Empereur …

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 263 fois)
  • Modele Claude Debussy
  • Modèle “Claude Debussy”

    1862-1918
    Avec Debussy, on entre de plein-pied dans le 20ème siècle. En ce changement d’époque, son anticonformisme n’est pas dérangeant comme celui de Stravinsky par exemple. Il nous fait glisser en douceur d’une esthétique traditionnelle vers des formes et harmonies nouvelles. À cet égard, l’utilisation intensive de la gamme par ton dans son oeuvre, qui est un peu sa signature le rend particulièrement reconnaissable. Debussy est un incontournable du répertoire des pianistes, mais il est aussi un maître d’œuvre génial de l’orchestration symphonique.
    Œuvres incontournables : Prélude à l’Après-midi d’un Faune, Syrinx (pour flûte seule), Clair de Lune, 1ère Arabesque...

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 167 fois)
  • Modele Francis Poulenc
    Nouveau
  • Modèle “Francis Poulenc”

    1899-1963
    Le plus connu des compositeurs du Groupe des Six.
    Poulenc, c’est parfois un monde enfantin avec des œuvres qui ravissent toujours les plus jeunes. Il est aussi et surtout un compositeur qui nous transporte sans peine et avec émotion sur des chemins harmoniques complexes sans jamais nous perdre dans des dédales intellectuels.

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 14 fois)
  • Modele Germaine Tailleferre
    Nouveau
  • Modèle “Germaine Tailleferre”

    1892-1983
    Pendant longtemps, on a considéré que la composition était un métier d’homme. À la lumière de l’actualité contemporaine et avec l’ouverture de nombreuses archives (internet aidant), on découvre un nombre toujours croissant de compositrices. Tailleferre est une exception et n’a pas eu à attendre le XXIe siècle pour s’ancrer dans l’histoire de la musique, même si pour en arriver là, il lui aura fallu beaucoup d’abnégation pour imposer sa carrière musicale à sa famille...
    Membre du Groupe des Six, elle a marqué de son empreinte la musique française du XXe siècle.

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 14 fois)
  • Modele Louis Durey
    Nouveau
  • Modèle “Louis Durey”

    1888-1979
    Il est le moins connu dans le Groupe des Six. Les apports à son style de Schönberg mais aussi de Ravel sont indéniables et ses oeuvres ne s’émancipent que rarement de l’une ou l’autre de ces influences.

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 8 fois)
  • Modele Arthur Honegger
    Nouveau
  • Modèle “Arthur Honegger”

    1892-1955
    Ses œuvres sont dans l’ensemble moins accessibles que celles de Poulenc ou Tailleferre, mais certaines pièces maîtresses comme bien sûr Pacific 231 ont de tout temps suscité l’intérêt d’un public large. Éclectique dans ses techniques de composition, il est difficile de classer Honegger dans un courant précis, si ce n’est évidemment rappeler son appartenance au Groupe des Six.

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 10 fois)
  • Modele Georges Auric
    Nouveau
  • Modèle “Georges Auric”

    1899-1983
    Son nom n'est pas très connu du grand public, mais on le connaît tout de même par ses musiques de film dont certains font partie du patrimoine cinématographique français du XXe siècle comme « La belle et la bête » ou « La grande vadrouille »…
    Il a aussi fréquenté Stravinsky et on ne peut pas passer à côté de certains rapprochements d’écriture entre les deux compositeurs, par exemple entre son « Malbrough s'en va-t'en guerre » et « L’histoire du Soldat » de Stravinsky.

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 14 fois)
  • Modele Darius Milhaud
    Nouveau
  • Modèle “Darius Milhaud”

    1892-1974
    Que serait la musique de Darius Milhaud, s’il n’avait pas vécu en Amérique du Sud, puis plus tard aux États-Unis ? Ses compositions sont si caractérisées par la syncope et le swing qu’il n’aurait pas été le même en restant sur le vieux continent. Cet apport de la culture américaine fait toute son originalité dans le Groupe des Six.

    12 lignes - Taille des portées : medium

    Format A4

    (Téléchargé 10 fois)